Commonwealth Short Story Prize 2024

Commonwealth Short Story Prize 2024: An annual literary prize known as the Commonwealth Short Story Prize is given to unpublished works of English-language short fiction from Commonwealth nations. The Commonwealth Writers, a program of the Commonwealth Foundation, oversees the award’s administration. It was founded in 2011 to commemorate and advance the variety of storytelling across the Commonwealth, which is made up of nations that were formerly a part of the British Empire. Africa, Asia, Canada, and Europe, the Pacific, and the Caribbean are among the five Commonwealth regions represented in the prize. Are you a native of these areas? Get a chance to win up to £5,000 by entering the Commonwealth Foundation short story competition.

For latest Study Abroad & Scholarship opportunities join our WhatsApp Community and Join our Telegram Group and Telegram Channel

Individuals from any Commonwealth region who are 18 years of age or older are welcome to enter this free worldwide competition. It aims to honor excellence in unpublished, 2,000–5,000 word short stories. About twenty stories will be chosen by an international team of judges for a shortlist. Five regional winners will be chosen from this list. One of them will be selected as the grand prizewinner and given a $5,000 prize. Each of the remaining regional winners will get £2,500 as a reward for their efforts. Granta will publish all five of the regionally acclaimed winning stories.

No matter their degree of experience, writers should take advantage of the Commonwealth Short Story Prize in 2024 to present their works to a large audience. The prize brings together authors from various Commonwealth countries, fostering cross-cultural communication and understanding through literature. It highlights the value of narrative as a form of communication and interaction. Beyond recognizing the best tale, this contest offers authors a forum to express their distinctive viewpoints and spark important discussions across the globe.

Since the beginning of this global short story writing competition, the award has been a catalyst for identifying and showcasing a variety of local authors who have the capacity to inspire their communities. Since then, there have been over 6,000 submissions to the Commonwealth Short Story Prize, a tremendous increase from the 2,000 entries in 2012. These entries span eleven languages and reflect almost every Commonwealth country.

Here are more details about the Commonwealth Short Story Prize Competition

  • Country: Online
  • Financial coverage: Fully Funded
  • Deadline: November 1, 2023

Eligibility Criteria for the Commonwealth Short Story Prize 2024

Does this international short story competition by the Commonwealth Foundation sound interesting to you? If it does, make sure you read the eligibility criteria that Opportunities Circle has compiled for you below. 

  • All entrants must hold citizenship in a Commonwealth nation.
  • Stateless individuals currently residing within a Commonwealth nation are also eligible to participate.
  • In cases where the writer has dual citizenship in two Commonwealth countries, the evaluation will take place in the region where the writer maintains permanent residency.
  • The competition does not require that the writer must currently reside in a Commonwealth country.
  • There are no restrictions on the choice of setting, genre or theme.
  • The story must be adult fiction and not written for children alone.
  • Applicants must be 18 or above by 1 November 2023.
  • Only the author who created the work, whether in the original language or translated form, is allowed to make submissions.
  • Submissions must be made via the online entry form for them to be considered. 
  • Each writer is only allowed to submit a single entry per year. 
  • The story must be an original creation of the entrant.
  • The Commonwealth Foundation reserves the right to accept or reject all entries, with the prize chair as the final authority in determining eligibility.
  • Individuals who have previously received the overall Commonwealth Short Story Prize are not qualified to enter.
  • Moreover, participants who have secured the regional prize on three occasions are also ineligible to submit their work for consideration.
  • Submissions from existing staff members of the Commonwealth Foundation are not permissible.
  • If your entry has been shortlisted or received an accolade in other competitions, it remains eligible for submission as long as it has not been published.

Benefits for the Commonwealth Short Story Prize 2024

If you meet the eligibility criteria mentioned above, continue reading about the various benefits of this international story-writing competition in 2024. 

  • Winning or being shortlisted for the Commonwealth Short Story Prize can significantly enhance a writer’s reputation and credibility within the literary world.
  • The grand winner will receive a prize worth £5,000, while the regional winners will each receive £2,500 as recognition for their achievement. 
  • The winning stories of the five regional winners will be published in the highly-regarded Granta Magazine.
  • Participation in the Commonwealth Short Story Prize community allows writers to connect with other authors, literary agents, publishers, and professionals in the literary field. 
  • The prize attracts a global readership, exposing writers to a diverse international audience and further enhancing their visibility and reach. 
  • The prize motivates emerging writers to improve their craft and continue their literary pursuits, incentivizing ongoing growth and improvement.
  • By promoting literature from Commonwealth countries, the prize contributes to the growth and vitality of literary communities in these regions, promoting creativity and cultural exchange.

Application Process for the Commonwealth Short Story Prize 2024

  • How to Apply for the Commonwealth Short Story Competition?
  • All applicants must apply online through the online entry form. 
  • Fill out all the required fields in the online entry form, including your details, contact information, and the title of your short story.
  • Carefully review the eligibility criteria to ensure you meet all the requirements of this competition. 
  • No application will be accepted after the deadline, so apply before time runs out.
  • The deadline to apply for the Commonwealth Short Story Prize is 1 November 2023

Apply Now Official Site

Was this article helpful?

Leave a Comment